The Play Association’s sailing day, as told by Trustee, Louise.

Ten years ago my husband passed away and after giving up work eighteen months later, Steve (our CEO) persuaded me to become a trustee of the Play Association. Having known Steve for many years, I knew of his involvement with the Play Association and was happy to join the team.

Being from a secretarial background, the aim was for me to assist with any clerical work, thereby allowing Steve and the others more time to run the various projects and play schemes on offer. A few years down the line I became the Treasurer of the Board of Trustees!

For most of my working life I was in the Travel Business, which comes in handy when we (the Play Association) organise day trips and outings for children. Having been lucky enough to accompany the children on some of these trips, I can safely say they are extremely rewarding, and being able to see children and families enjoying themselves is always brilliant!

Last week’s trip to the Felpham Sailing Club, who for the last few years have hosted a sailing day for us, was no exception to this trend, as the children had a thoroughly enjoyable day. In addition to plenty of boating, they were granted access to the local putting green, all the while being made welcome in the club’s main clubhouse, where refreshments were provided by Monotype Ltd of Redhill, Surrey. On behalf of my fellow trustees, I would like to thank both organisations for their continued support.

While this is always one of our more rewarding events to be involved in, this year’s was made all the more special as we were able to provide children and families affected by the Grenfell Tower disaster the opportunity to join us. Some of these children had never been to the seaside before, and it was lovely to see them enjoying themselves!

During my time with the Play Association I have watched it expand, take on new projects and bring in more experienced, talented and passionate personnel. The future looks very promising for the Play Association, and here’s to my next ten years!

Pictured: some of the children on the day struggling with a photo, in which they were seemingly made to face towards the sun – how unfair! Sorry, kids. At least you had an amazing day of sailing!

Leave a comment